#### RASHTRAPATI BHAVAN

# PRESS COMMUNIQUE

# THE PRESIDENT ADMINISTERS OATHS OF OFFICE TO 4 CABINET MINISTERS, 2 MINISTERS OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE), 5 MINISTERS OF STATE AND ALSO ALLOCATES THE PORTFOLIOS OF THE COUNCIL OF MINISTERS

The President of India, as advised by the Prime Minister, administered the oaths of office and secrecy to the following members of the Council of Ministers:-

## **CABINET MINISTERS**

- 1. Shri V. Kishore Chandra Deo
- 2. Shri Beni Prasad Verma
- 3. Shri Dinesh Trivedi
- 4. Shri Jairam Ramesh

## MINISTERS OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE)

- 5. Smt. Jayanthi Natarajan
- 6. Shri Paban Singh Ghatowar

#### **MINISTERS OF STATE**

- 7. Shri Sudip Bandyopadhyay
- 8. Shri Charan Das Mahant
- 9. Shri Jitendra Singh
- 10. Shri Milind Deora
- 11. Shri Rajeev Shukla

Shri Srikant Jena and Shri Gurudas Kamat who were holding the office of Ministers of State were appointed as Ministers of State (Independent Charge).

Contd....2/-

Further, as advised by the Prime Minister, the President directed the following allocation of portfolios among the newly appointed Ministers shall be as below:

## **CABINET MINISTERS**

1. Shri V. Kishore Chandra : Tribal Affairs and Panchayati Raj

Deo

2. Shri Beni Prasad Verma : Steel

3. Shri Dinesh Trivedi : Railways

4. Shri Jairam Ramesh : Rural Development

# MINISTERS OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE)

5. Shri Srikant Jena : Statistics and Programme

Implementation and Minister of State in the Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilisers

6. Smt. Jayanthi Natarajan : Environment and Forests

7. Shri Paban Singh Ghatowar : Development of North Eastern Region

8. Shri Gurudas Kamat : Drinking Water and Sanitation

# **MINISTERS OF STATE**

9. Shri Sudip Bandyopadhyay : Health and Family Welfare

10. Shri Charan Das Mahant : Agriculture and Food Processing

**Industries** 

11. Shri Jitendra Singh : Home Affairs

12. Shri Milind Deora : Communications and Information

Technology

13. Shri Rajeev Shukla : Parliamentary Affairs

The President further directed, as advised by the Prime Minister, that the portfolios of the following Ministers shall be changed as indicated below:

### **CABINET MINISTERS**

1. Shri Vilasrao Deshmukh : Science and Technology and Earth

Sciences

2. Shri M. Veerappa Moily : Corporate Affairs

3. Shri Anand Sharma : Commerce and Industry; and additional

charge of Textiles

4. Shri Pawan Kumar Bansal : Parliamentary Affairs and additional

charge of Water Resources

5. Shri Salman Khursheed : Law and Justice and additional charge of

**Minority Affairs** 

# **MINISTERS OF STATE**

6. Shri E. Ahamed : External Affairs and Human Resource

Development

7. Shri V. Narayanasamy : Personnel, Public Grievances and

Pensions; and Prime Minister's Office

8. Shri Harish Rawat : Agriculture and Food Processing

Industries; and Parliamentary Affairs

9. Shri Mukul Roy : Shipping

10. Shri Ashwani Kumar : Planning; Science and Technology and

**Earth Sciences**